a weblog

Setup with Working Copy

So I tried to make a post yesterday and had no idea why I didn't see it, figuring it would show up eventually. This morning, when I still didn't see it, it dawned on me. I didn't put the .md at the end of it, so the file was never picked up and posted. 🤦‍♂️

It's a good thing to remember that adding .md is a better way to create a draft than putting "draft" in the top section, at least if you are using GitHub. Because I found out, even if you put "draft" at the top of your file, it might not show up on your main post pages. But when you do searches, especially for tags, you will find the file.

Yesterday's entry and this one are all coming from my phone. I installed Working Copy which I connect to GitHub. With this setup, it's quite nice. It gives me a time that I can actually create a post like this one right here offline and then push it when I'm ready. Seeing how I am sitting at a swim meet typing this out and waiting for my daughter to swim which will be in another hour.

Person using a smartphone, possibly taking a photo, with an indoor swimming competition in the background. Spectators seated, swimmers in lanes, vibrant pool area. No text present.

My only issue with Working Copy is that on my phone it is not giving me predictive text or correcting my bad spelling that is happening due to me typing on this phone. Not the end of the world but a little annoying, but I also know why it makes sense to not have it correct or give suggestions as normally people would use this app to write code. Maybe I will start drafting this in a different text editor and then just use Working Copy to post.

I know this is only day 4, but I think the more I mess around with weblogs, the more I seem to like it.

status

reach out: